In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that most people will be interested in staying up-to-date with emerging headlines. Although it is true that the majority of people will move towards reading the news digitally, I believe there will be a small number of the population who prefer the press. Most newsreaders are likely to move to online platforms in the future as it is free and easily accessible. For example, most TV broadcasters and newspaper companies have apps which can be downloaded onto phones. This ensures that breaking news is available instantly as notifications pop up on the screen so that people can follow recent developments on important events such as national security and politics. If readers stick to newspapers, they would have to wait until the next morning to discover major incidents which some may feel is too late. However, I believe there will be a small number of people who will not follow the trend and will stick to reading the newspapers, in particular those who have no access to computers and the internet. For example, in some third-world countries, there are many poor villages with only one shop with a computer and internet access which people have to pay to use for a limited amount of time. People of such places will have to rely solely on newspapers. In conclusion, even though I believe it is true that the majority of the world population will move towards reading the news online due to the convenience of it being available on their phones, I am confident that there will be a small number of communities who are dependent on tabloid because of the unavailability of technology.