The only reason for people working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lacking money is an issue for some, which leads to the opinion that the sole purpose behind working diligently is to earn more money. I totally disagree with this notion and will give my rationale in this discussion. Having financial issues could decrease the quality of life, which contributes to someone working harder than others to fulfil their basic needs. Take the financial recession in 2008 as an example, many people lost their jobs and their homes which consequently made people work harder and make more money to sustain their normal needs. Or if a member of a middle-class family was diagnosed with a terminal health problem, in order to pay for the long-term treatment, someone in the family potentially needs to double their time of work to earn more money. Therefore, some do have the need to devote more time and energy working to make extra cash, not with the sole purpose of making a lot of money but in order to cover their needs. Another reason why some focus on work more than others is because they have a mission. Take ultra-marathon runner and Ex-Navy SEAL David Goggins as an example, he was able to participate in the world's most challenging marathon to date and actually finished it with record timing. In order to achieve such a feat, he worked very diligently on himself and with his mission backing him up which was raising money. Moreover, the funding he received from the marathon was not for himself but for providing for the families of his fallen comrades in the Navy while on active duty. Thus, there are higher purposes to push someone to focus on their job, career or mission. In conclusion, earning more monetary possessions is not the only reason for a person to work harder but there are other purposes that motivate someone to do so.