In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it is more common to consume fast food, which causes medical problems a lot. Therefore, it is argued that governments should imply some additional taxes to reduce eating this kind of food. I totally agree with this statement because high tax ratios could be used to encourage people to eat healthier options and also, additional incomes could be used to improve healthcare systems diminishing health issues in society. Firstly, people often tend to eat the cheapest alternative, which is fast food, so high prices might deter them from unhealthy restaurants. Moreover, cooking healthy meals takes so much time and also it is more expensive because of their ingredients. Imposing additional taxes might be more competitive in terms of the quality of foods. For instance, there is a survey made by the Ministry of Health. Result of the survey indicates that if prices are stable for each type of restaurant, people tend to choose healthier ones. Second of all, central authorities could use the extra income to develop their medical infrastructures to serve better healthcare programs. Today, treatments might be expensive due to more complex medical devices because some hospitals do not have enough budget for spending money. In addition, cities are over-populated which is why the capacity of hospitals should be enhanced through coming money from taxes of fast food. There is a research paper released by WHO, that says that the causes of most of the deaths are about unhealthy diets. Accordingly, if the government could impose some taxes on fast food chains, avoiding deaths stemming from unhealthy foods be easier. To conclude, imposing taxes might be fruitful to exceed some problems in society. Governments should encourage people not to consume this product. Additionally, this income might be used to build new health facilities.