Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective way to do this.

Most citizens claim that prohibiting vehicle use in a day can effectively clean the air, while others suggest that there are other alternatives. While that prohibition leads to better air condition effectively, other policies are not as effective as that. Because of that, I think vehicle prohibition once weekly is the best way to increase the environment's health. The vehicle-free day serves as an action to improve the overall environment’s air aspect. Moreover, that policy also could be paralleled with other actions. Activities such as jogging and cycling are usually being done by people on that. As a result, many people are not using vehicles that harm the environment as they prefer for jogging or cycling. Therefore, it will reduce the amount of pollution in those days. That was proven by government research on air elements on a sample of one car-free day and its effect on society in 2017. Research shows that the air quality was improved to 2.1 out of 10 on a scale of the global air pollution index. In addition, citizens' lung capacity was also increased by 70% from daily averages. But the important thing is, this is the evidence that this movement improves air quality. Where there are plenty of acts other than traffics-free days that are being conducted by governments, most of them are more focused on reducing the traffic instead of on the environment's health. Thus, they are not as effective as that. Additionally, other operations were more related to traffic than environmental issues, making other healthy activities could not be done at the same time. As a result, they are not as effective as the first movement. To compare that, research was done by the World Health Organization to find the most efficient movement among others such as 3 in-1, odd-even policy, etc. It shows that the vehicle-free movement is 50% above them. Hence it shows that the action is the most efficient among them. As a consequence, that experiment makes me think other activities are not as effective as that, making that suggestion wrong. In short, a car-free day movement is an efficient way to improve overall air trait. Whilst other exercises were focused on the traffic, the car-free day was not. Ergo, it makes me think other citizens' claims are wrong.