With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, e- books are becoming more and more popular, some individuals consider it as a positive trend, whilst others take it as a negative change. I am more captivated by the idea of e- books due to their environmentally friendly traits and the improvement of life they provide. Firstly, a key factor in my agreement with e- books is that they help improve our environment. For example, the number of people who purchase physical books declines, and the need for paper pulp can be reduced, which is mainly made from wood, hence, trees can be saved. Moreover, with more trees staying alive, forests aid soil and water conservation, thus, flooding can be avoided as well as giving habitats for animals. It is not only beneficial for human beings but also advantageous for the earth. Secondly, it can avail our lives in practical ways. For instance, we save energy from its lightweight trait. We no longer need to carry several books that we borrow from the library, alternatively, we can simply read from online or offline with a two hundred grams apparatus in our hand. Besides, it saves space and time. No books mean no bookshelves, therefore, we can utilize unused space for other pastime activities such as aerial yoga or building a home gym in the house. Furthermore, no need to clean dust and bookworms that fall on books anymore. One small device makes a big positive alteration in our lives. On the other hand, some paper book lovers are against the rise of e- books because it is harmful to the eyes owing to blue light exposure. However, I reckon this problem can be controlled by limiting the reading time. In conclusion, everyone on the earth wants to have a better environment and an easier way of life. Changing from reading a pile of papers to one portable device is a little action, but it besteads us to build a greener surrounding and upgrade our lifestyle.