More and more developing countries are expanding their tourist industries. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive development?

Tourism has recently attracted attention all around the world. This is why the tourist industry has been becoming an up-and-coming matter in some developing countries. There seem to be two main reasons, and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main reason for the ever-increasing focus on such areas in third-world nations is its economic effects. It is undeniable that vacationists need to spend money to fulfil their desire to visit a place. Examples to illustrate this are expenditures like accommodation, transportation, eating, and doing other activities depending on the place they travel. They, therefore, have to bring money and use it which means more turnover to locals. A further well-known motivation to expand the vacation industry, might be cultural causes. Third-world countries tend to show their civilizations and histories to the rest of the world. To do so, some special events are held in tourist places. a classic example is the exhibit which is placed in Kashan, a city in Iran, called "Golab Giri" which is a tradition of Iranians to extract flower juice. The effects of this matter on the local society can be quite significant. Firstly, the money being injected in order for vocational purposes could increase the revenue of indigenous people bringing about higher levels of welfare. Furthermore, unemployment would become rare due to the demand for human resources to administer tourist areas. A living example is a city near the border in Iran called "Jolfa", having a lot of historical venues to offer, which used to suffer from the lack of occupation and income. But with the expansion of holidaymaking in this area, people live better. A further widely observed impact is the attempt to preserve ancient places and rituals. When the value of traditions and history of a country are being appreciated by both people and government for the attraction of holidaymakers and creation of good picture around the world, they would try harder to keep them from being lost. Overall, monetary improvements and cultural introductions seem to be the main motivations for a third-world country to invest more in the tourist industry affecting individuals' welfare and appreciation of its rituals.