In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

Urbanization has happened in many nations regardless of their economic scale. From my perspective, the desire of individuals to access greater opportunities is the foremost reason behind this phenomenon. This essay will investigate the implicit reasons for this phenomenon and illustrate some salient adverse ramifications. In my opinion, urbanization has stemmed from individuals' aspirations for better living standards and more job vacancies. Firstly, people aspire to access better facilities, such as modern hospitals, attractive entertainment venues, and renowned educational institutions. The infrastructure in metropolitan areas is usually more developed than in rural areas, and the architectural style often includes more green spaces and communal areas. For instance, young people can find desirable educational institutions with better research facilities and larger campuses. Secondly, many people relocate to find employment with higher salaries and better welfare. In general, they have brighter future prospects in bustling cities, with more job opportunities and spaces to express their skills. Furthermore, they can learn new skills and gain experience before climbing the career ladder. As a result, they receive financial rewards, and recognition from colleagues and shareholders, which are cornerstones of their material and mental lives. However, urbanization has led to higher population density, resulting in many problems. Initially, this increased population leads to inflation of commodity prices when human demand exceeds supply capacities. This contributes to rising basic production prices and real estate shortages in many metropolises, forcing people to live in slums with poor living conditions. For instance, a recent journal report in Vietnam indicated that over five people suffocated in a fire due to a degraded electric system and the high density of workers in a small, shabby house. This massive migration has not brought better living conditions and has forced many labourers into sweatshops. With labour resources exceeding market demand, people face higher competition and lower salaries. For example, citizens often work overtime without bonuses to meet project deadlines and due dates. To conclude, from my perspective, better living standards and more job opportunities are the main impetus for this migration. The higher population density has exacerbated issues including poor living conditions and increased job competition.