Many people who care for the elderly do not have enough time to look after them. What are the problems related to this? What are some possible solutions?

It is concerning that the majority of the elderly are not looked after properly because their children do not spend enough time. This problem is attributable to pressure from employers and stress from family, yet this can be addressed by hiring carers and having flexible working hours. The underlying problem is that these people get pressure from their employers. Although the company they work for can provide some time off, the work that they left over would be stacked for another day and the time off they get also decreased significantly. As a result, the employees who have to take care of their elderly would have less time to aid for the needs of their elderly. This is especially true in China, where many people who have to work more than 15 hours a day receive very little day off to care for their old parents. Another factor may be the stress from their family. In other words, people have to balance the time for their family and the elderly depend entirely on their children if their body is too weak. Consequently, unbalanced arrangements of time could cause conflict in the family or accidents might happen to the elderly if no proper care is taken. In Vietnam, there have been many recorded cases of conflict in families due to poor time arrangements to look after the elderly. However, solutions can be made to cope with these problems. The most effective approach is negotiating with employers to work flexible hours in order to bare more time for proper caregiving. An additional method to amend stress from family is to hire caretakers from qualified services, these caretakers are all trained to give care to the elderly and report the situation if the hirer is not home. Thus leading to reduce stress and ensuring appropriate medication for old people. Therefore, it can be seen that problems of family stress and employers are major reasons for the little time people have to take care of the elderly. Thereby, it should have been demonstrated that urgent action needs to be taken in the form of caretaker hiring and flexible work hours to ensure the well-being of old people.