Some believe governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways, while some think money should be spent improving public transportation, such as buses, trains, and subways. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the government should invest more budget in developing roads or public transportation. While some individuals argue that it is essential to allocate more money to improve highways’ conditions, I personally agree with those who believe that investing in public transportation are more important. It is true that the condition of roads and highways is vital because they have a direct effect on road accident statistics. For instance, a road with poor lightening and signage decreases the drivers’ visuality, and puts their life at risk. Roads and highways need daily supervision by engineers in order to be safe, and there are several factors, such as their asphalt, which need to be checked by professionals to prevent crashes. So, great amounts of budget are needed, which should be provided by the government, to guarantee a safe and fast journey for the individuals. However, I agree with those who feel that public services’ conditions are more important than roads or highways. For example, outdated trains, broken buses or slow subways would force people to use their private cars which have various negative impacts not only on our environment, but also on traffic congestion. Allocating more budget in this particular sector will allow the government to modernize the public vehicles and increase their speed. It is evident that, modern and high-speed public transportations encourage people, mostly employees, to use buses or subways to commute to their workplace, and this trend will decrease air pollution in the metropolis as well as traffic jams. In conclusion, although some people suppose that the governmental budget should be spent on roads improvement, I assume the public services which are used to transfer people are more crucial.