Some people think that children should begin their formal educatiom at a very early age. Some think they should begin at least 7 years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is suggested that children start their formal education at as early age as possible, but 7 years old is the optimal age to start education. Although children learn the basic knowledge and language skills between 4 and 6 years old, children's brains are totally ready for learning at 7 years old. Between 4 and 6 years old, the brains of children focus on only grasping new information. If they start their education at this age, it may be easy to develop basic language skills and learn main knowledge such as basic calculation, alphabet, numbers and so on. However, at this period, it is required to take care individually of each child. Therefore, schools are not the right childcare environment for very young people. On the other hand, 7 years old is the optimal age for beginning formal education. The main reason is that the brains of children are more active than in other age periods. Problem-solving skills, creativity, understanding, protecting themselves and such kinds of skills are developed at this age. Moreover, children start social communication with others at this age. This means that they can make new friends and interact with school teachers. From statistical perspective, in some countries, where formal education starts at 7 years old, the education system is more effective than in other countries. Thus, children should go to school at least 7 years old. In conclusion, children can learn basic knowledge at an early age. But, 7 years old is the optimal age for starting formal education.