Some people think that developments involving the internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few people are of the opinion that advent in technology and internet has connected people irrespective of their residence while others contradict that it has developed a gap between human resulting in bereft of direct communication causing a distress in their relationship. My opinion is divided and reasonings shall be discussed in the following passages. On one hand, the technology and its tangential aspects are developing at a lightening speed. Applications such as the Facebook, Instagram, and WhatsApp are helping mankind connect regardless of where they live. Without the aforementioned apps, talking to our loved ones who resides on the other side of the world could cost fortune and it can also be difficult due the time factor. However, with this advanced technology we are able to connect with them in one touch and at fraction of costs. For example, during COVID-19 I was away from my family due to work commitment. I wasn't able to return home due to travel ban. During, this strenuous time we all managed to stay connected through WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger. Without which we would have experienced depression due to lack of communication. Having said that, on the contrary, some say people are often isolated because many spend more time on social media instead of communicating with their loved ones. Despite being closer, they feel far away and lonely. Scrolling down reels and videos have taken precedence over spending quality time with family and friends. In addition, citizens have started to forget their own parents, partners and sibling's birthday's, anniversaries, and other important dates. Failing to wish them on significant days makes their kith and kin feel left out. Also, some only wish through message. This simply depicts that they do not have time to call their relatives or friends to even make a call. For instance, my best friend who always make it a point to call me on my birthday has not called me since the evolution of the Facebook. She only messages me which has costed our friendship and thus making me assume i am not of any importance to her. Over all, I believe that advancement in any field is necessary for globalization. But it should not happen at the cost of diminishing the importance of relationship. Balanced approach of using internet and other social media can foster a more cohesive environment for all humans.