Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons for immigration? What consequences can it have on people who migrate to other countries?

Immigration - a trend as old as human history itself, has always been a major phenomenon in society. People migrate for a variety of reasons including the expectations of a better education and career, to avoid political turmoil and war, and to be surrounded by a safety net of a developed society. Migration has both positive and negative results for people who migrate to a foreign land. To begin with, the primary reasons for people to decide to migrate to other countries, the most obvious reasons are education and a better career. Millions of students get admitted to different foreign universities so that they can get a better education and have more demand in the job market. Similarly, thousands of skilled, semi-skilled and non-skilled people migreate migrated to a country with a relatively stable economy with the hope to get a decent job and earn a better wage than what their homeland would probably have offered. Moreover, policitical unrest, civil war and poor social safety net force people to leave their own country and take shelter in a land that is completely foreign to them. For instance, thousands of people from Syria migrated to different European countries to avoid wars and casualties, and to be in a country that can offer them social safety. Those immigrants get many benefits from migrating. For instance, they live in a better society, can avoid wars, and poor social and political conditions of their home country and get to blend in a developed country that has a better standard of life. For instance, many people who have fled the wartorn area of Iraq, Syria, Sudan or Afghanistan, have been accepted to live and work in developed countries like Germany and Poland, which ave improved their living standard and social security. On the contrary, migrants may face some negative consequences as a result of their migration. Language and cultural barriers are perhaps the most dominant of them. After migrating to a new country, which is often quite a contrast from their country of origin, they find it difficult to communicate and blend into the host society. Consequenty, they struggle to get a job and suffer from distress and depression. In conclusion, migration has always been a part of our society and civilisation. It is expected that people would migrate on their will and not forced to do so for events like wars. It is also expected that the host countries would take more initiatives to reduce the negative experiences of those migrants.