People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that individuals should have the freedom to retain all of their income instead of allocating it to taxation. This essay will challenge this school of thought. Granted, those who believe that it is justified to keep their hard-earned money rather than contribute to the tax system have their own standpoint. They may argue that the money is what they deserve after long hours of hard work while the state does not directly assist them with their work. However, this line of reasoning overlooks the benefits, amenities, and conveniences they enjoy daily, which largely come from tax revenues. For instance, the public transport system enables many people to commute to work quickly and conveniently with various choices from buses to subways at an economical toll, funded by the state budget. From my perspective, contributing to the tax system should be viewed as a way to collectively develop a country and enhance living standards. Indeed, tax money serves the public in various fields, including education, transportation, healthcare, and national defence. For example, in Denmark, one of the countries with the highest tax rate per individual, citizens are still pleased to pay taxes annually because they enjoy free education, advanced hospitals, and swift, clean public transport, all of which contribute to their overall satisfaction and well-being. In extreme cases such as wars and conflicts, a country without a national budget, or tax revenue, would find it virtually impossible to protect itself as there would be no allocation for the army or weapons. This is why I believe that individuals should not be selfish and should contribute part of their income to paying taxes. In conclusion, I totally disagree with those who believe they should keep all of their earnings rather than pay taxes, given all the benefits they enjoy that are funded by the tax budget.