Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Scientific trials on animals have been conducted by scientists for centuries for various reasons. While some people strongly deny this act and want it to be banned, others favour the idea and attribute major scientific discoveries to it. In my opinion, conducting tests on animals is fair, as they not only provide a suitable medium to carry out experimentation but also help save human lives. To start with, animals, as living beings, are closest to human bodies and can mimic results of the scientific trials just like human beings. Guinea pigs and rabbits specifically are mostly used in laboratories all over the world to invent medicines, observe the effects of medications on living beings, do dose calculations, perform surgical procedures, and study the anatomical and physiological aspects of the bodies, to name a few. Had it not been for the test animals, humans would have been used till now for these purposes and would have put precious human lives at stake. Furthermore, carrying out these experiments on animals has helped physicians and scientists save millions of people and has made it possible to carry out complex medical interventions when needed. As an example, being a medical professional, I had myself carry out multiple experiments on rabbits to observe the effect of certain medications on the heart rate, to be effectively utilized in the treatment protocol of cardiac patients. In conclusion, animals are a very important tool for scientific testing. Luckily, with technological advancements, I believe that scientists would be able to find an alternative to animals to conduct these experiments, perhaps by generating some laboratory-made organisms depicting results closer to human bodies, so animals could be spared from further testing.