Task 2: With growing number of populations in cities. Many people are living in small homes that do not have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

For the most part of the modern life, the majority of humans have been living in cramped homes which lack outdoor spaces, as a result, the population of humankind has expanded and flourished in recent years, especially in cities and towns. The writer perceived this as a negative development and will explain it in the following paragraphs. It is acknowledged that living in an enclosed area could have detrimental effects on one’s physical well-being due to the lack of wind flows and fresh ambience. As the outdoor spaces play a pivotal role in moderating the air stream and getting rid of harmful substances stored in the atmosphere, individuals who live in a suffocated environment are more vulnerable to respiratory diseases, for example, lung cancers. Indeed, there is a research pinpointed that the number of people in poor areas suffering from respiratory illnesses has been increasing drastically in the surveyed period. Furthermore, living in a cramped place will also severely affect humans’ mental health. In fact, it fosters a sense of isolation and suffocation among residents which creates imprisoned feelings, therefore many people are increasingly sensitive towards common living problems such as paying bills or parking cars. Hence, they will end up hurting their beloved or people surrounding them if they lose control of their temper, or in a worse scenario, depression and anxiety. Taking all points into conclusion, Physical and mental illnesses are commonly experienced by people living in small and cramped places. Hence, governments should come up with new policies related to building laws in order to address this phenomenon.