With growing number of populations in cities, many people are living in small homes that don't have outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the population of many metropolitan cities is increasingly significant, so people have to live in small houses which will result in the lack of outdoor areas for individuals. The writer contends that this tendency is seen as a negative progress due to several drawbacks arising from this trend, which will be explained in this essay. It must be acknowledged that the lack of outdoor space will have some detrimental effects on human’s development. The first primary drawback is that these places will reduce chances for people to participate in many sports activities, which will significantly affect their health. Indeed, by limiting space for many physical activities and outdoor reactions, people in these areas could adopt a sedentary lifestyle, which leads to many chronic diseases such as heart problems and obesity. Additionally, the environment is detrimentally affected by the large number of population in these cities. For instance, many slums in Africa are the main contributor to the worse proportion of clean and fresh atmosphere, compared to other countries, which could decrease the quality of life in this place. Another fact should be concerned is the impact on children's development. There is no doubt that outdoor space provides young generations opportunities to improve their knowledge and behaviour through many outdoor sports activities. Therefore, if there were not any activities for children to attend, they would feel bored and stressed, which will sharply influence their mind’s development. In conclusion, I would say that there are many negative aspects, including many impacts on people’s health, the quality of life and also the children’s development, which will make society become worse and worse in the future. Thus, it is understandable that the dramatic increase of population would cause many negative prospects for human’s lives.