Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Social media has been debated amongst societies because of its negative impacts on individuals. In some aspects, the uncontrollable contents are harmful to people because people are able to share anything. Additionally, it influences societies by setting high standards in many aspects of life. Due to these facts, I wholeheartedly agree that social media such as Facebook and Instagram negatively impact society. One of the drawbacks of social media is people have the freedom to share any information through social media, including harmful posts. It is due to the fact that hundreds of contents are uploaded in a day and unregulated information is harmful to people. For example, in 2011 in Surabaya, Indonesia, a violent video between students went viral on social media and the effect of this video, there were many similar incidents happened because the students watched the video. Hence, the uncontrollable content in social media has negative impacts on society. Moreover, there are many influencers who post their lifestyle and it makes society set their standards high. It is human nature to always feel less and think that their neighbour's grass is greener and consequently, they set their ideal standards based on the famous artists who have an ideal lifestyle in their opinion. For instance, in Indonesia, 60% of teenagers value their relationship by doing couple-goal things such as fancy dinners with their partner to become an ideal couple just because it goes viral on social media. As a result, it shapes an unhealthy relationship between individuals. To conclude, there are negative impacts of social media such as people setting high standards in their lives. Moreover, uncontrollable and unregulated posts on social media are harmful because anyone can access them. Thus, I am siding to believe that social media brings more burdens than benefits.