Some people think that hosting international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Recently, there are contrasting viewpoints regarding the pros and cons of organizing sports events with the participation of teams from different countries. In my opinion, despite some drawbacks including construction costs and the risk of spreading diseases, the benefits of these events, namely opportunities for the host to make profits and popularize their image, are much more convincing. For once, it is completely reasonable for some people to believe that hosting international sport tournaments is disadvantageous. This is because the cost required to construct the infrastructure and facilities for such events can reach millions of dollars, which might be unaffordable for some developing countries. Moreover, the spread of contagious diseases, such as the COVID-19, is another plausible reason. During these events, the influx international travelers and large crowds of spectators inside the stadium or gymnasium create ideal conditions for the spread of the virus. However, I firmly believe that with the increasing vaccination coverage rates and herd community witnessed in many countries nowadays and in the future, it is rather safe to welcome foreign sports fans. In contrast, from a personal perspective, the opposite viewpoint is much more agreeable due to the advantages of international sports tournaments. First, they provide the host countries with opportunities to receive great amounts of revenue from ticket sales, tourist spending, and television rights. In other words, this is only the problem of investment and return, and if properly managed, these events are wonderful chances to enrich the national budget. Furthermore, the image of the host with friendly people and good environment can be popularized, which results in an increase in international cooperation, especially in commerce and tourism. This had been proven by the success of the 2003 SEA Games in Vietnam. In conclusion, despite the existence of some finance and safety concerns, I hold a strong belief that sports events are golden opportunities for economic growth, and they can be successfully organized with careful planning and precautions.