In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In several regions, it is sometimes argued that governments should allocate funds to build new lines for the fast trains between the cities. However, other people believe that instead of spending money on establishing new railways, it is better to invest this money in improving the existing public transportation systems. While I understand the importance of improving the current public transportation systems, I believe that building new lines would be a better idea for several reasons. On the one hand, it is perceived by some that working on the existing public transport systems would be worth spending money instead of building a whole new system. In many countries, many public transport systems are not functioning well at the moment, thus, devoting money to fixing these facilities can be a good attitude. Also, in some rare cases, broken trains and buses can lead to a catastrophe, for instance, a couple of years ago in Iran, an old train derailed and two citizens died because of that. Similarly, sometimes, working on the existing systems would be more practical and does not cost as much as building a new system. Nonetheless, working on new public transportation facilities is more beneficial than improving the existing ones. On the other hand, many hold the opinion that allocating money to build new systems is a better idea. Firstly, in many parts of the countries, people use public transportation systems daily to reach their work or home, so, the number of subway trains and buses should be enough. For instance, in Tehran (the capital city of Iran) you have to wait at least half an hour in the morning to take the subway or the bus. Secondly, new systems can be made with up-to-date methods and new technologies, thus, it is worth spending money on new systems instead of improving the older ones. Lastly, as the population grows rapidly, building new systems can be more useful in the future. In conclusion, While I know the advantages of spending money on improving the existing public transport systems, I believe allocating this money to constructing new systems would be a better attitude.