In some counties an increasing number of people are suffering from health promblems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

In a number of countries, a rising number of individuals are affected by health concerns due to increased junk and unhealthy food intake. Some people believe that it would be beneficial to impose a higher charge on mainly convenience food, which could improve the situation, however would it be enough to change people’s eating habits? It is worth considering that due to the business of the contemporary world majority of citizens find it more convenient to obtain fast food over-the-counter, rather than spending time on preparation of home-made cuisine. Consequently, over the recent decades our consumption habits have been adjusted significantly, moreover, this style has been negatively affecting our body as well. As per recent investigations, approximately 40 per cent of the global population is faced with the obesity and overweight. Unfortunately, excess weight impacts not solely on appearance, but on other co-morbidities as well as diabetes, stroke, arthritis etcetera. Another thing to consider is an awareness that increasing junk food cost or initiating an extra tax will not adjust the situation significantly. Obviously, to improve current state it is imperative to involve not only governmental administrations, but educational institutions, volunteer organisations and so on which could promote how to maintain healthy eating and an excellent lifestyle. It is important to provide fresh and organic products and groceries with affordable prices, to foster common knowledge regarding our bodies and how unhealthy food mainly with preservatives spoils our bodies and degrades wellbeing. Taking everything into consideration it is clear that the ignorant individuals could harm themselves with fast food without even understanding. Thus, in my humble belief, it is essential to educate society for a better future of the next generations.