The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

t is argued that the benefits of English becoming the lingua franca are more significant than its drawbacks. Although this tendency can pose a threat to some minority languages, I mostly agree with this notion since it facilitates smoother communication and employment opportunities. Admittedly, the widespread use of English leads to the loss of linguistic diversity and cultural heritage. As more people learn and speak English, fewer people may be interested in preserving their native languages and cultures. A case in point is the language Ainu, spoken by the indigenous Ainu people of Japan, which is now critically endangered, with only a few hundred speakers remaining because of the popularity of English. In other words, these people have the focus on English learning and sacrifice the opportunity to continue education in Ainu language and even Japanese. Consequently, the traditional values delivered in the Ainu language such as singing in a chorus can disappear. Nevertheless, the first reason why I believe the propensity to utilize English as an international language is beneficial is because it can enhance communication among individuals. This is because this language can be easily spoken and understood around the world, making it easier for citizens from different countries and cultures to communicate with each other. This facilitates international trade, diplomacy and travel across the globe. For instance, being proficient in English enables those who travel to a foreign nation to converse with locals effectively and avoid potential conflicts triggered by mutual misunderstandings. Another justification for my agreement is that job opportunities can be widened. As English fluency is often a requirement for jobs in international business and the tech industry, having a good command of it enables people to acquire better employment opportunities with a high earning potential. To illustrate, a job candidate who is proficient in English has an advantage over others in the job market since businesses that have a global presence require their employees to converse with others in English. In conclusion, although I admit that the global expansion of the English language can trigger the extinction of some native languages, its merits including the enhancement of interpersonal communication and career opportunities are more substantial. It is advisable that people should improve their English skills and knowledge to be better prepared for their future.