It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, an increasing number of population who can travel to secluded natural areas thanks to the proliferation of technology has sparked controversy among the public. While there are certain benefits from this tendency, I would argue that they are eclipsed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, visiting isolated natural places does have some advantages. Firstly, this is a novel and engaging form of travel. Travelling to other cities or countries has become commonplace for many people, so it might be more exciting for them to explore new destinations such as the South Pole or the Amazon rainforest, which gives them valuable experiences and unforgettable memories. Secondly, when visiting remote areas, people, not least scientists, can gain deeper insights into the natural habitat. For example, when conducting research at the North Pole, scholars can study the lives of polar bears which inhabit remote regions. Despite the above-mentioned advantages, I believe that this trend might have its downsides. The first one is that travelling to remote natural areas can pose risks if travellers are inadequately prepared. For instance, the temperature at the South Pole is usually very low, which adversely affects people's health. Travelling to forests can also be dangerous as citizens have to encounter the risk of being attacked by wild animals. Additionally, since paying a visit to detached locations often requires a large amount of investment in researching and ensuring the safety of travellers, the costs of travelling tend to be high. Therefore, this trend is likely to benefit a select few, mainly prosperous individuals who can afford such endeavours. In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of individuals being able to travel to remote regions outweigh its edges. Even though this tendency offers exciting opportunities for exploration and research, it presents significant risks and financial burdens, making it accessible to only a privileged few.