Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness ?

The importance of happiness in our lives could hardly be overestimated. Although it is not so easy to define, as people are different, some factors can be equally important to everyone. Happiness is a feeling, and feelings are very hard to measure and classify. Every person has their own vision of what happiness is. For example, people with the same salary may not have the same level of happiness, while people with different earnings may feel equally happy. Some studies about happiness suggested focusing on several parameters to compare the level of happiness among the different individuals. The first parameter is the level of security. The study claims that without food security and physical security, people cannot be happy. The basic security needs should be provided to the people to be happy. In addition, the feeling of social security plays a significant role as well. For example, in the Nordic countries, the highest level of happiness is defined, where the crime level is low, and people feel that the government support their basic needs. The second parameter that is taken into consideration is the working-life balance. People who work regular hours and spend several hours a day with their families report a high level of happiness. No doubt they get enough money to support an average life, however, their earnings are not extremely high. In addition, being part of a community is an important part of life and affects the feeling of happiness. To conclude, although each person has an individual vision of happiness, there are some criteria that can be common to everyone, such as a feeling of security, belongingness and balance between work and the family.