Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern times more and more individuals are visiting non-traditional medical centers and refusing treatment from professional doctors. This essay will discuss the negative impacts of such a modern trend and illustrate my viewpoint with supporting examples of cancer treatment and self-medication. In our current social life, it is widespread/very common among senior people to use alternative methods of medicine, especially herbal pills. They take them for various illnesses, from headaches to bone disease. However, many of those herbal medicines do not have any scientific evidence that proves their beneficial properties. This is especially dangerous when patients refuse traditional treatment in favour of alternative ones. For example, when cancer patients choose herbal treatment instead of chemotherapy that can lead to tragic consequences. As a result, those cancer patients lose precious time for effective cancer treatment and a chance to prolong/extend their own lives. Another reason why alternative medicine can cause adverse effects is self-diagnosing and unprofessional self- treatment. Nowadays many people are selling scam products to people with health problems. Those poor consumers spend their savings on some empty promises, because most of the mentioned scam products are simply vitamins. For instance, there was a big hair grow vitamins campaign which promised its users recovery of damaged hair and growth of new hair cells. But these hair vitamins actually created many hair and skin problems. This resulted in a huge scandal and in a lot of cases these practices worsen the conditions of people and lead to serious hair loss. In conclusion, due to the development of interest in alternative medicine, many people believe that it has both positive and negative sides. Despite that, in my opinion, the use of alternative methods of treatment can lead to serious health-related issues as described with cases of cancer patients and scam hair vitamins which resulted in severe ramifications due to their application.