It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the constant use of vehicles, mostly on the central side of the towns, leads to big environmental problems. Some people argue that the best solution to this problem would be the complete removal of cars and public transport from the roads making way for bicycles. I strongly disagree with this statement, and this essay will show why a sudden shift to a bicycle-only system would bring more drawbacks than cars and public transport. People have always been preferring bicycles over cars. They are justifiably worried about the potential threat of cars to the environment and the health of the residents. Indeed, due to the amount of carbon that cars emit into the atmosphere, central regions in most of the town have bad air quality, which leads to headaches and respiratory issues for people who live there. Also, one of the main reasons for choosing bicycling is that it has many health benefits. Regular and consistent bicycling can positively impact various aspects of physical well-being. Riding a bicycle engages various muscle groups, including the legs, thighs, and buttocks. Therefore, it contributes to the development of muscular strength and endurance, enhancing overall fitness. Despite the minor risks associated with environmental pollution, removing all the cars and public transport off the roads can bring even more problems. Firstly, it would affect the accessibility and mobility needs of the people. Not everyone can use a bicycle due to physical limitations, age, or health conditions. Therefore, banning cars and public transport could limit the mobility of certain segments of the population, such as the elderly, disabled individuals, or those with young children. Moreover, these acts can have a significant economic impact. These days, most businesses and countries rely on the transportation of a large number of goods and services, which are usually done by delivery trucks, or other essential vehicles. Thus, a complete ban on vehicles would make the transit slow, which would lead to delays, increased costs, and disruptions in the availability of products affecting the county's economic status. In conclusion, taking into consideration all the arguments presented, I strongly believe that people who believe that changing to a bicycle-only system is the best way to solve environmental problems are underestimating the potential economic and accessibility consequences of this problem.