Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some consider plants and animals extinction to be the modern era’s main environmental problem, while others argue that “survival of the fittest” is the primary reason many weaker species have become extinct and climate change is the more pressing matter. This essay will explore why stopping pollution should take priority to saving dying species. There have been many attempts to preserve endangered species in zoos as well as laboratories. It is estimated that there are currently more than a thousand active revitalization and protection programs for plants and animals throughout the world, such as the Chinese panda breeding initiative, the white rhino security personnels in Africa or the genetic modification to revive dead plants in America. But regardless of the effort, biodiversity still dwindles due to negative changes in the worldwide biosphere. Therefore it is clear that pollution is the more important problem that needs to be addressed. Industrial exhaust, oil spills and deforestation are major factors that contribute to the extinction of various animals. If these effects are halted or reversed, nature will recover, affording plant and animal species greater survivability. One example of this was during the Coronavirus outbreak in 2020: a large number of factories worldwide were closed for quarantine which significantly reduced pollution, resulting in improved environment in the oceans as well as forests. In conclusion, stopping pollution should take precedence over the effort to protect dying wildlife. When pollutants are removed, plants and animals will be able to thrive in habitable areas thus preventing extinction.