In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantageous of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantageous?

It is true that due the technological development, vehicles mainly cars, buses and trucks will be auto-operated without drivers in the future, as a result, only passengers will be travelling inside these vehicles. I believe that this situation will have significant drawbacks compared to benefits. I have given the justification below. Driverless vehicles might have one of the biggest concerns related to the safety of passengers. In other words, people who travel by auto-operated vehicles may face serious consequences. Such types of transportation are run by Artificial Intelligence systems which have many inbuilt logics and programs. Any minor error or signal issues in communication or code languages may lead to a dangerous condition. As a result, there might be an accident or collision on the road. For example, recently, all Asian countries decided in the 2024 summit to do extensive research on driverless vehicles and review passenger safety considering the various trial and error methods. On the other hand, there are some merits when commuters travel without drivers in vehicles. The journey will be more cost-effective and cheaper The non-availability of drivers will be beneficial for vehicle owners as they do not need to pay any salary or other perks. As a result, the vehicle maintenance cost will go down. Moreover, the traffic congestion problem will be also solved as the vehicles will be operated by AI and the system will make sure to take care of road diversion, traffic congestion and other issues. For instance, as per the research conducted by the University of Japan, the Tesla car has ranked No.1 in terms of minimizing traffic congestion on the road. In conclusion, the driverless vehicle will bring some advantages in terms of time and money, however, there will be serious threats to human life in case of any collision or accidents happening due to system fault.