Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few decades, there has been a tremendous increase in the utilisation of electronic devices to store information. While some may argue that printed material are not required, others think that it will play a crucial role in keeping track of data. This essay will discuss these two viewpoints and come to a logical conclusion. To begin, there is an argument to be made that in today's fast-paced world, there is a requirement to store and analyse large amounts of sensitive information. Digitization has undoubtedly aided in this process as it makes it easy to identify and track down data quickly and efficiently. For example, the usage of software in hospitals which presents the doctor with the medical history, previous surgeries and current medications of a specific patient, has significantly improved the quality of health care. Additionally, since the beginning of the digital era, there have been positive changes with regard to the carbon footprint, which has proved to be beneficial for the planet. For these reasons, it is clearly evident that the introduction of electronics has facilitated the advancement of data storing techniques. Another school of thought believe that information on paper is reliable and safe. For instance, personal data uploaded to the internet can be easily accessed by hackers leading to a breach in privacy. This can be undesirable and potentially dangerous for the public. Moreover, there is an increased threat of destruction of the data when stored electronically, as it can encounter various malicious viruses. Therefore, with this in mind, it is undeniable that printed material can be relied upon and is efficient in securing information. To conclude, although many believe that paper-based data is reliable and safe, electronics present data quickly and make it easily available. Hence, in my opinion, printed material is no longer necessary and electronics can perform the same task efficiently.