Living in a country where you have to speak a foreighn language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of foreigners live in different countries to earn money or develop academic knowledge, such as exchange students and immigrant workers. In my opinion, living in an unfamiliar country without knowing the native language often presents several threats and challenging situations, making it hard to endure. This essay will discuss some of these challenges. Firstly, when it comes to studying abroad in a non-native country, you can easily encounter misunderstandings from teachers and peers. It is hard for those who are from different countries with immature language skills to follow the pace of the class and to integrate into social circles. For example, when collaborating with classmates on any tasks in the classroom, it may be hard to share your opinions and participate actively. As a result, a lack of verbal skills exerts an extremely negative influence on a student’s academic development. Moreover, it is difficult to seek a job due to the limitation of speaking ability. Those who find an occupation in an unfamiliar country are often exposed to challenging moments during the interview. This is because they find it hard to demonstrate their working experiences and abilities, and often seem to be enthusiastic applicants. If they get a job, they will undergo a tough period in their new job. For example, insufficient communication skills can disturb the active atmosphere at the company and lead to decreased productivity, causing them to feel isolated and depressed. In conclusion, communication difficulties significantly limit both educational and career achievements for individuals who live abroad. These problems often lead to feelings of loneliness and frustration.