Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

In today’s rapidly evolving world, the controversy surrounds the issue of whether the crime motive should be considered for sentencing the offenders. Personally, I assume that the reasons behind the crime should be taken into consideration. A panel of people are of the opinion that the main reason behind the crime should not remain elusive. To commence with, they claim that there are different types of motivation for each mode of crime. To specify, a suspect who is accused of murder can be either a murderer or just a victim who wants to defend himself. Although, he is in charge of someone’s death, he is not a real criminal and just aims to rescue himself against that murderer. Consequently, it is not fair to treat him like a professional offender and sentence him to a capital punishment such as execution. On the other hand, opponents assert that punishment for each type of offence must have a framework. They are intensely convinced that if any individual commits a crime, he must carry a fixed sentence. No matter what is the purpose behind this offence, everyone should follow an identical treatment programme when it comes to justice. To exemplify, if a person drives faster than the speed limit in order to visit his terminally ill mother in the hospital, is as guilty as a theft who runs away from cops and his speed is over the limit. In other words, both are accused of traffic offences, and they must be punished equally. To conclude, despite the fact that every single suspect should be treated within a fixed framework, I firmly believe that the motive behind the crime should be made clear. Because an unintentional crime should not be judged as same as a deliberate one.