Countries should produce enough food for their own population and import as little as possible. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, food security has become one of the most significant aims for each nation. While some people believe that food production should only secure citizens’ needs with minimal importations, others argue that it will not be possible as various products should be imported. I tend to agree with the former argument, and this essay will support my view with examples. To begin, securing paramount resources such as food is the first step towards real independence. I think that no nation has the right to make its own decisions freely without external interventions until they are capable of providing for its population. This is because food can actually be a pressing card over some countries’ politics. In a country such as Russia, for example, the majority of worldwide governments stopped exporting essential nutritional goods to it after commencing their war against Ukraine. Secondly and most importantly, gaining control over a momentous strategic commodity such as food is empowering for both residents, as well as national authorities. This is due to the fact that prosperous societies usually promote solidarity and well-being. This, in turn, raises the general sense of pride and belongingness. For instance, most American citizens are proud in regard to their variable local food production. As a result, generalized feelings of reassurance and serenity will probably follow securing food. In conclusion, although the production of enough food is an ultimate goal for some nations, some people disagree as they think it is mutually beneficial for some countries to rely on each other. In my view, the boon of controlling your own food is of paramount importance, I would prefer to live in a country that has the ability to dominate its needs.