In the age of digital communication and social media,face-to-face interactions are becoming less common.Some people think that this is decreasing people's ability to communicate well in person. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Have you ever wondered if the rise of digital communication has put a damper on people's face-to-face communication skills? While some say that nowadays individuals seem to have a reduced capability in connecting with and talking to others in person, some believe in the contrary and say that digital communication has heightened our ability to communicate. Personally, I agree with the former and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons to my opinion. While digital communication has undoubtedly provided a plethora of ways to catch up and connect with our families and friends, it also came at the expense of causing people to rely too much on technology to aid them in communicating with people. In fact, after the COVID-19 pandemic blew over not long ago, many people have lost or have not even properly developed the ability to communicate with people face-to-face. Consequently, they often find themselves unable to express themselves adequately without having their devices at hand. Moreover, digital communication can lead to emotional detachment and a lack of depth in relationships due to the absence of warmth and intimacy that is inherent to face-to-face communication. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, I began to notice that many people — even myself — would turn off their cameras, prefer texting over active video calls, and even express things in texts and emails that they would not have said in person. In conclusion, digital communication provided the world with unparalleled opportunities for communicating with people in everyone's daily lives. Despite that, it has also introduced issues that drastically decreased the ability of many people to communicate effectively in face-to-face settings, such as individuals' over-reliance on technology and their desensitization to face-to-face communication.