Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that during vehicle-free days, private ownership of two-wheelers or four-wheelers is prohibited, while the use of public transport such as buses, cabs, and metros is recommended in metropolitan areas. Although there are both pros and cons, I believe that the benefits of this policy significantly outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks to be considered. Firstly, using the local vehicles to commute may lead to larger queues. With each bus station, the number of individuals rises massively during this day, contributing to the inconvenience and discomfort for travelers when using public transport. Moreover, individuals who rely heavily on private cars for mobility, such as persons with disabilities, may face challenges during these periods. There are more individuals, for instance, who cannot board metros or buses as they need to be picked up and dropped off from their doorsteps due to some disability and may have to depend on others On the positive side, implementing the vehicle-free days rule can help to reduce air pollution. Due to this, the harmful gases emitted from self-owned cars may decline massively, contributing to improved air quality in the city areas, which ultimately reduces chronic and respiratory illnesses. To cite an example, the policy of car-free days has reduced the carbon emissions gradually in London and Paris, which were high due to owning private vehicles. Furthermore, alleviating traffic congestion due to car-free days reduces traffic. For example, in Cambodia, using this policy helps to make a smoother flow of traffic, reduce travel time, and enhance road safety. This may not only improve the community experience but also decrease the level of noise pollution generated by honking. Thus, the efficiency of public transport is enhanced rapidly. To conclude, while there are some drawbacks of local transport, such as longer lines when traveling and hurdles faced by individuals with disabilities, there are more advantages that outweigh the disadvantages, including controlling pollution and traffic congestion