Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people, say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education in general is always a topic of interest. Some assert that academic subjects should be focused on teaching, while others state that a mix of academic and non-academic subjects is better. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and give the final opinion later. On the one hand, It is inevitable that these subjects will be directly beneficial for students in terms of gaining knowledge that might be helpful for them in the future. Due to the provision of academic curriculums about fundamental information and practical skills that students can use this knowledge for any jobs that they apply for later on. Moreover, acdemic subjects might be easier to acknowledge a person’s qualifications and abilities. This is because these subjects will be given in terms of score based on the coursework or exams Therefore, a company can make comparisons between applicants through their scores, meaning that students who focus on academic subjects could be more competitive when applying for a job. On the other hand, it seems to be more balanced to have any non-academic subjects that students can do. The importance of music and sports in student’s life is seen as a tool for reducing mental health issues. If students are provided with a good combination of academic and non-academic subjects, thus, it could help them in terms of soft skills and personality fostering. This is because the majority of sports requires teamwork and logical thinking for strategy. While music essentially demands the coordination of the brain, eyes and hands to play an instrument, as a result, it would increase their flexibility and develop their personality. In conclusion, although academic subjects are essential in providing students with basic knowledge to use in their future careers. However, I personally believe that the combination will be better for a well-rounded development for each individual since it not only helps with reducing mental health issues but also gives students the opportunity to foster their personality and other skills in the long term.