In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Medical care over the past century has improved significantly, enabling people to overcome diseases that were once incurable. As a result, people's lifespans are increasing globally. Not only medicine has improved since the last century, but also life standards, quality and duration of life. The benefits of this progress far outweigh the drawbacks. One obvious issue with an ageing population is that socioeconomic factors are becoming more unstable, because it is a fact that the elders’ health will only worsen as they advance in age year by year. This necessitates extra caregivers, proper medical care and other life -saving resources. To make things even worse when these people still work and occupy potential jobs in organizations, they make it more difficult for the new generation to get a job based on their higher degree. While there are challenges associated with an ageing population, one significant benefit is that people have more opportunities in their lives as they live longer. Consequently, the mental health of people is also improving a lot. By this I mean that all over the world people are becoming kinder, more responsible and friendlier to each other. For example, long life spans allow people to reach more personal, social and professional goals throughout their lives. So, elders also could try themselves new and even turn their dreams into reality. Weighing up both sides of the argument again, it is absolutely true that increased life expectancy has a lot of advantages. The ability of a person to live longer in a kind and comfortable society with excellent medicine, with the opportunity to try everything, is wonderful.