In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, parents are deciding to send their children to single-gender schools. Some people argue that children sent to such schools will encounter difficulties in later life. I believe to some extent that children will not develop hardships in the future if they go to same sex schools. A major advantage of children going to gender specific schools is that it eliminates competition between boys and girls. It can be quite difficult for girls to thrive and learn in environments occupied by boisterous and rowdy boys. For instance, studies have shown that girls do far better academically compared to boys when in single- sex institutions. This shows a clear benefit of sending children to gender-specific schools because they will be able to learn and excel without pressure from the opposite sex. This would mean that they will be better prepared and equipped with all the necessary skills they need in later life. Lack of diversity is a major drawback in sending children to gender-specific schools. It would be very difficult for children to learn how to engage and communicate with the opposite sex. This would be detrimental in the future once they start working in professional jobs. For example, studies have shown that adults who went to same-gender schools found it quite difficult to adapt and engage with the opposite sex in the first 6 months of working. This demonstrates the difficulties that children will face in the future if they are not exposed to the other gender. To conclude, I believe that there are both benefits and drawbacks of sending children to single- sex schools. Children will thrive in gender-specific institutions, but there is the possibility of not learning how to engage with the opposite sex in professional settings.