Art and music are considered some of the fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music at school?

Some subjects, such as art and music, contribute to the core elements across various sets of population. I contend that these courses play an important role in the digital era, but this should not equate to allocating additional teaching time for learning such creative subjects. It appears that art is still revered across the world, as millions of people fly across the world to visit museums in different cities. For instance, Louvre Museum, located in Paris, France, had a step fall of more than 3 million tourists in 2022, who came to see Mona Lisa, a famous painting by Leonardo Da Vinci, which seems to demonstrate that art is still popular among the masses. In addition to this, music has gained enormous popularity as it became more accessible for the common person due to advancements in technology. For instance, mobile devices enable most users to enjoy immersive listening experiences from their own homes, which was not possible in the past. This has led to an instrumental monumental or phenomenal rise in people who consume music through online applications, like Spotify. Even though both, art and music, are vital subjects for children, as they foster creativity and broaden one’s imagination, they should not be allotted extra time. If more time is spent on creative modules, it might hinder the student’s ability to focus on important subjects, deterring them from performing well in examinations. This would impact their career growth negatively, if they opt to pursue largely academic fields, like Medicine or Engineering. To conclude, I reiterate that, although art and music form an essential component of our societies, it is imperative that such subjects should not be taught for increased number of hours as it will harm the student’s ability to prioritize other subjects, resulting in reduced number of career opportunities in the future.