Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As the topic sentence suggests, a lot of major cities are confronting a severe housing problem without enough capacity to give space for novel buildings. Although some governments argue that this can be solved by demolishing parks to compensate for the needs, I strongly disagree with this idea because ruining the parks with natural landscapes will harm people ’s health and there are other options such as urging exporting people and companies outside of the city area. First, just making space by destroying the existing buildings and parks does not solve the fundamental problems; the major cities are too crowded for people to live comfortably. Therefore, governments should pay attention to distributing this burden to the countryside, where they hold various problems because of the shortage of workforce. For example, in Japan, in the midst of COVID-19, people were inevitably urged to work far from other people and every meeting was switched to online, which enabled many people to live in comfortable rural areas and people have noticed its merits, now there are more people who choose to live in the suburbs and countryside. Second, demolishing the natural parks will harbour many problems not only for the environment but also for people ’s mental and physical health. In other words, in contrast to the countryside, people seldom find a place such as a playground, traffic for running or walking, and a park to feel relaxed in cities and destroying such precious places makes it almost impossible for anyone to maintain their health. For instance, in Tokyo in Japan, there are more individuals suffering from depression or other mental illnesses compared to those in the countryside and some people have completely recovered from the depression just by moving outside of the city area surrounded by a more cheerful atmosphere and more nature. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea of making space for living or business by ruining the existing parkland because it will do more harm than merit for local people and governments should seek for redistribution of the workforce and residents outside of the major cities.