Some people think the best way to succeed is to get a university education, while others disagree and say it is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Decades ago, getting a college degree was perceived as the only route to a successful career, significantly boosting one’s chances of securing a high-paying job. However, with rising tuition costs and an increasing demand for practical skills from employers, some argue that entering the workforce directly and gaining hands-on experience might be a better option. I agree with this perspective, as it is a more practical and financially sensible approach nowadays. There are several reasons why going to college and following a traditional career path can be seen as the only path to success. Firstly, by obtaining a college degree one can prove to future employers that they have achieved a baseline understanding of the subject matter and developed a certain set of skills, including time and project management skills, research skills, and writing and editing abilities during their academic career. A 2016 research suggests that one-third of Americans without a college degree had failed to apply for a job because of a lack of tertiary education. Beyond having a slew of marketable skills, a college education can guarantee a widened social network, participation in a community of like-minded people, and, in turn, increased opportunities for internships and job placements. Thus, having university credentials might still matter. Nevertheless, I think finishing college is no longer a guarantee of impressing employers, given tuition costs are rising and an increasing number of jobs that don’t necessarily require academic qualifications. Reports show costs have been on an upward trend for the last 20 years, reaching a rate of 158%. Graduating from university, once seen as a solid investment, now contributes significantly to a student debt crisis. Moreover, in-demand skills, such as strategic thinking, problem-solving, data analysis, and the like, that companies need are not what students study now. According to Labor Statistics, more than 50% of jobs require on-the- job experience. Many students, already burdened with excessive debt, do not view unpaid internships- which could guarantee the acquisition of these technical skills - as a measure of success. Therefore, pursuing apprenticeship programs, vocational training, or attending community college following high school, which offers education and skills at a lower cost, appears to be a more viable path forward. In conclusion, while a college degree has traditionally been seen as a critical step toward a successful career, the evolving job market challenges this notion, with the rising costs of tuition resulting in significant student debt, and the increasing number of employers requiring hands-on expertise. Given the demand for practical skills that are often best acquired through direct workforce participation, vocational training, apprenticeships, or community college programs present viable and more advantageous alternatives in the way of success.