in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many countries face an imbalance in the age ratio of their population, especially when the number of elderly has outnumbered the youngsters, and they can live longer. It triggers a debate whether this situation will give more benefits to society or create further problems for the governments. Nonetheless, I would argue that there will be more drawbacks to the situation described above for some reasons that are set out below. On one side, when people have reached their unproductive age, there will be some cases that impact certain aspects of their lives, including economic productivity. For example, it is predicted that China’s economy will experience a downfall because there will be not enough workers in the future as their citizens are limited to only having 1 child in a family. This resulted in the elderly no longer being able to work well compared to young people, and the government needs to find a solution to provide enough employees to replace them in business sectors and industries to avoid a downfall in the economy. On the other side, with the existence of the elderly, there would be some benefits. For instance, the young generation will have easier access to wisdom and advice, as well as an improvement in family bonding. That is to say that youngsters can easily talk about their problems and learn life lessons from them. Also, a further illustration shows that many countries in Southeast Asia mostly have cultures of having strong family bonds which are very close to their parents and grandparents. By this, I mean they can have a precious memory and moment with them. In conclusion, although there are some benefits to having more population of elderly, I believe that the drawbacks are far superior because of the possibility of having problems in the economy that the government should solve.