Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

With technological advancements and changes in society, it is not surprising to learn that children spend extensive amounts of time on their smartphones. This short essay explores the reasons why that is the case and discusses whether it is a positive or negative phenomenon. Children may spend long periods of their spare time on mobile devices because these devices have become increasingly accessible with technological advancement and parents are too preoccupied with other activities to spend time with their children. Another reason children do so could be the parents ' lack of knowing a better way to interact with their offsprings. For example, I can see many families taking their children outside for a relaxing weekend but somehow the children are glued to the screen while enjoying their meal instead of talking to each other. However, it is not entirely the fault of the parents because youths before the digital age would entertain themselves with other activities. Now that smartphones have become popular, these youngsters would inevitably want to keep up with online media like their peers do or even mimic what their parents do on their devices. Such a development can have both positive and negative consequences. On one hand, kids will learn how to handle digital technology from an early age, reducing the need for additional technical support in their studies and career in the future. On the other hand, parents and educators may not be able to control the kind of media the kids consume and it is hard to stop them from using these devices once they start. I know from firsthand experience how addicting smartphones can be since they hold access to infinite amounts of knowledge and entertainment. To conclude, youths these days are engaged with mobile devices for long periods of time due to societal changes and advancements in technology. Such a phenomenon can have both advantages and disadvantages depending on the perspective from which we view the situation.