In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is no denying the fact that numerous residents in some regions believe that owning a home rather than renting one is something crucial. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenomenon and deliver my opinion. To begin with, there are many causes for why some people are desire to own property. Firstly, some countries especially the developing ones suffer from high rental costs. In other words, they believe that buying a house and paying a monthly fee for a bank is more affordable than renting one. In addition, some governments encourage the residents to own houses to increase the country’s economy. For instance, in the Gulf countries, if you own your first property, you will not have to pay any taxes for that payment. In terms of the situation of this phenomenon, I tend to believe that it has significant positive aspects in both individuals and communities. Although buying or building a house from scratch costs a massive amount of money, it has substantial benefits. It is also possible to say that, when you design your house you have the potential to make it a net zero-carbon building which will reduce energy usage. Moreover, having sustainable and net zero-carbon buildings in a city will impact the environment considerably. For example, planning your house with big windows in the hot countries, will ensure to have direct and indirect natural lighting in all spaces and to keep the house warm during winter. In conclusion, there are many drivers behind owning houses including economic and environmental aspects. However, I tend to believe that owning houses is extraordinary upwards for individuals and communities.