Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The prevalence of multinational companies is increasing exponentially in developing countries. These companies not only bring a number of advantages such as job creation and economic boosts, but also disadvantages such as the closure of local businesses and negative environmental impact. On the one hand, the addition of a multinational company creates many new jobs in the job market. This is because after being established these companies require a new workforce; from factory workers and delivery personnel to new management and marketing teams. Additionally, this surge in new job placements has a large positive impact on the economy of the developing country. For example, the establishment of the Apple factory in Dubai, not only increased job opportunities for the citizens, but also boosted the economy of the city by tenfold. On the other hand, because of their large size and workforce, these companies are able to sell products at starkly low rates. These low prices are impossible for local businesses to matchand, therefore, act as an unfair competition. Ultimately, local businesses are forced to shut down due to a lack of customers and bankruptcy. Furthermore, Multinational companies use the natural resources of developing countries to sustain their factories, causing not only a depletion of such resources but also an increase in air and water pollution during the disposal of their waste products. Ultimately, this poses a threat to the country’s inhabitants. In conclusion, while, the addition of large multinational companies creates new job opportunities for individuals and boosts the economy of the country, its negative impacts on local businesses and the environment cannot be ignored.