an essay on scienctific developments being used for the good of humans

In the 21st century, scientific developments are so rapid and fast paced, that it has become increasingly difficult to keep track with them. Researchers and the general population alike have come to realize that while some of these developments have helped change the course of humanity, some have regrettably helped to hurt and harm humans as well. This essay will be discussing the grounds of scientific developments being used as a positive aspect in improving people’s lives. One argument brought forward by many new and modern researchers and scientists is the extent to which scientific discoveries help when trying to improve the living standards of people. These scientists have the potential and resources to introduce innovations that would change the way we perceive the world. For example, the discovery of the drug Penicillin, changed the course of modern medicine forever. Electricity, modern medicine, modern machinery and the internet are just a few of these groundbreaking scientific discoveries. However, it could also be argued by another perspective that these discoveries sometimes could tend to do more harm than good. Scientists, naturally like any human, would only want to add to the scope of knowledge that they have gained. By doing this however, they may come to cross the limits of what is considered morally “right”. It would be difficult to predict the end result of these earthshattering discoveries, and without them even realizing they could have created something that would inevitably result in more good than bad. Such was the theory that helped create the Atomic bomb, which was originally brought forward by Albert Einstein, who had stated that “he would have done nothing” had he known the outcomes of his discovery. In conclusion, it can be agreed upon that yes, scientific discoveries should be mainly used for the betterment of the daily lives of all human beings. However, science is also about developing research and increasing the scope of human knowledge. Science is both wonderful and unpredictable. Scientist do not know the extent of their scientific breakthroughs till their work is done.