Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary world, the controversy surrounding the usage of advertisements has been a prominent topic. It is commonly believed that advertisement is one of the important reasons for consumerism, notwithstanding its crucial role in promoting a company's production. From my perspective, I completely agree that advertisement exerts some negative effects on people's minds in terms of creating artificial needs. To begin with, the first reason to justify my belief is that advertisements affect a person's mind and deflect them from making good decisions. To be more precise, studies have discovered that constant exposure to repetitive content makes our minds believe that something is true, and in this case, buyable. An obvious example of this is Google which collects the data that users search and shows them repetitively on the other websites as an advertisement. Therefore, finally can persuade people to buy that item. Another point to consider is the way of representing an item in advertisements which contributes to creating an artificial need. In other words, people often buy things only because of the image of power, success and glamour associated with them. Hence, companies always hire a professional photographer and use advanced cinematography techniques to create their advertisements as aesthetic as possible and spend a lot of money on this matter. Consequently, this leads to a considerable increase in the number of people who purchase an item just for the sake of appearance. In conclusion, although advertisements are meant to be a way of representing a product, it is used to create a psychological effect on the mind to persuade people to buy things that they do not really need. So, it results in excessive buying.