Nowadays both scientists and tourists can go to remote natural environments such as the South Pole. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern day, travelling to places off the beaten track like the South Pole is no longer an elusive dream for not only scientists but also tourists. While this brings about some undeniable benefits, I would argue that the drawbacks are greater. On the one hand, it is beneficial for both scientists and tourists to be able to visit remote natural places. Firstly, it allows scientists to conduct practical research or experiments. For example, scientists can have a closer look at the habitat or the characteristic behavior of the indigenous animals there such as penguins and whale seals. Secondly, travel agencies will gain profit when travelling to isolated places becomes feasible. The South Pole is unquestionably a fascinating destination compared to other familiar places of interest around the world and will attract a massive influx of visitors as a result. On the other hand, it seems to me that the potential risks involved in this development deserve more consideration. One reason is that the trip to remote areas such as the South Pole poses great dangers to visitors. The weather there is consistently severe with a multitude of snow storms and snowslides not to mention tourists are under threat of being attacked by wild animals. Furthermore, travelling to these places can be extremely costly. Huge investment in transportation and equipment is of indispensable necessity in order to ensure absolute safety of visitors. As a result of these trips only serve a certain number of upper-class people whereas considered unaffordable for those with lower income. In conclusion, although there are good reasons why travelling to remote natural places should be in contemplation, I hold a strong belief that the setbacks outweigh its advantages.