Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

I think it is beneficial that goods like food, cars, furniture and clothes that are produced in a certain part of the world are now available almost everywhere, which means the similarities between various countries are growing. People in different regions now have access to products they could not use before. Ther are numerous goods that are produced only in certain parts of the world, which means that people living in other places could not normally take advantage of them in the past. For example, bananas and pineapples are grown in tropical countries and so, did not use to be available to consumers in colder countries like Russia and Canada. Nevertheless, most people in such countries are now able to buy and eat these beneficial fruits. Furthermore, people can now migrate to different countries with less fear of becoming homesick since the products they are used to are now available in shops wherever they go. For instance, Iranian immigrants could not cook their national dish, Ghormesabzi, in other parts of the globe because the specific vegetables required were not grown there. However, as they can access all these ingredients in shops and supermarkets around the world today, they do not miss a significant part of their cultural heritage anymore, allowing them to work and live more productively. Some may argue that the global spread of similar goods and the growing similarity between countries can reduce people ’s motivation to travel to other parts of the world, decreasing tourism and the revenue it brings to countries. But I think people will still travel to see and experience the natural features of other countries like forests, mountains and wildlife. In conclusion, I believe the growing similarity between countries around the world is a desirable development. People can now take advantage of beneficial goods from other countries, and immigrants can be less stressed and more productive.