Bein overweight has become a major health concern in many parts of the world. Explain the causes for being overweight and provide solutions.

It is true that in many countries, obesity has become a major problem. There are several reasons why many people are suffering from overweight. However, steps can definitely be taken to tackle this issue. Nowadays, a lot of individuals suffer from being obese, and maintaining a healthy weight is becoming more and more challenging. Many reasons are involved in this issue. Firstly, people's diets are not healthy enough these days compared to the past. Many people consume fast food or other types of food that virtually are not good for general health at all. For instance, I remember when I was working on my dissertation, I did not have enough time to cook, thus, I ate fast food for almost two months in a row. Secondly, in the contemporary world, many occupations have become passive. In the past, many people have participated in active jobs such as agriculture or farming, but these days many works are done behind the computers, so, employees do not need to do any physical activity at all. Lastly, citizens, especially children tend to participate in passive recreation rather than active ones, such as playing video games or chatting with their friends through social media applications. Many steps can be taken to alleviate the situation. Parents should inform their children about their eating habits. It could be a good notion to familiarise them with good nutrition and the bad ones. Also, people should devote their spare time to playing sports, instead of passive activities like watching television or listening to music. Similarly, governments and teachers in schools can play an important role in mitigating this problem. They can encourage people and pupils to become more active through advertising and courses. For example, educational departments can incorporate a course related to the diet habit into student's curriculum. In conclusion, there are several reasons why people become obese these days, however, measures can be taken to address this issue.