Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, shopping has become a great way of spending free time in many nations for youngsters. In my view, this is a positive development because this allows us to buy necessary items that are essential on our daily basis such as food and we also get to spend quality time by catching up with friends and family. People can buy the things that are essential for personal growth. To illustrate: books are mandatory tools for students to learn important skills and gain proper knowledge. Beside, shopping can be more than just purchasing objects and materials. It can be a great means to meet with friends and family and spend meaningful time together. It is blessing and pleasure to be around with the people with whom we share love and care. While we are having a hard time, we can communicate with them by sitting in a quite restaurant or a cafe and they can give us genuine advice. Moreover, we will stress less. On the other hand, some people may be passionate about buying trendy clothes and gadgets. They may love buying gifts for themselves or for their relatives. For instance: during special occasion such as Christmas, parents love buying gifts for their children and many shops also provide a huge discount to attract many customers. Our body release happy hormones like dopamine when we are pleased and content. So, for some people it can bring a great sense of satisfaction and peace after getting the things they like. This might motivate them to work even harder and better for the things they want to achieve. Therefore, it is beneficial to do shopping rather than many other detrimental activities like drinking alcohol or taking drugs. To summarise, shopping brings relaxation in hectic schedule as well as positive energy to keep up with both the worklife and personal life.