it was predicted that people living in the twenty-first century would have more free time than ever before because of improvement in technology. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Due to the advent in technology, a future in which individuals would have more leisure time than in the past has been in trajectory for a period of time. In my opinion, in present days, this prediction has become a reality to some extent for certain group of population, while there is the other who must work harder and have less free time than before. It is inevitable that the contemporary discoveries have paved the way for a more relaxing lifestyle. First and foremost, the availability of novel devices has significantly reduced the time spent working and providing more leisure time. For example, the time spent doing household chores has significantly decreased thanks to the development of domestic devices including robotic vacuum and dishwashers. As well as this, people are spending less time at work due to the aid of artificial intelligence. Indeed, several laboring works has been assigned for computer to fulfill instead of employing human resources, allowing professionals to focus on more on managing roles, which allows them the spare time for recreational activities. However, there are numerous barriers which limit the accessibility of modern technology, including the price and complexity of the machines. Looking at the cost of employing novel equipment, such devices are usually extravagant, and those who come from low socioeconomic backgrounds could not afford them. This will lead to less fortunate people having to work harder and consume more time for a job as compared to those who are affluent. Hence, individuals from this group will have less free time to spare, as they are required to work harder to support their families. Furthermore, new technologies are far more complicated for the older generation to gasp the techniques on operation. As a result, they will be slow in adaptation of such facilities, and they may resort back to the old methods, which will cost them more time to finish a task. In conclusion, I agree to some extent that the advancements of technology allow modern population to have more spare time. However, there are certain groups that are prevented access to such luxury due to the high prices and complexity of the appliances.